RSS

Norwegian blue parrots in Hanoi

03 Jul

When I moved to Norway 18 years ago, I really knew next to nothing about Norge. But what I was sure of is that Norway was rubbish at the Eurovision Song Contest and that the indigenous parrots were blue and plunged into depression if deported from their natural habitat. Turns out neither of these facts is true. (This man used to live in the house next door to us, though tragically enough for all concerned, before we moved in).

The state of my knowledge about Hanoi at the beginning of 2011 was probably on a par with my prior knowledge of Norway. So, for the past few months I have, amongst other things, been reading a few blogs written by expats living in Hanoi, although one has now retired his blog, and two others are now leaving Hanoi. Room for my blog then, haha.

Here’s a shout out to the blogs I have learnt about Hanoi from:

http://sarita331.wordpress.com/

http://ourmaninhanoi.com

http://laninnam.blogspot.com/

and my favourite:

http://www.ahoyhanoi.blogspot.com/

Thanks for the intro to Hanoi, and good luck with it all :-)

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 3, 2011 in All posts, Vietnam

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Norwegian blue parrots in Hanoi

  1. Bjorn

    July 4, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    One of the real benefits of moving to the other side of the planet is that you’ll escape the Eurovision Song Contest altogether! Especially the Weegie entry…

     
  2. timbre65

    July 4, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    Well, put it this way, I don’t think I’ll be sitting up all night to watch it, +5 hours u see :p

     
  3. Gandalv

    July 7, 2011 at 3:11 am

    It was only one norwegian blue and I think it is dead :-), of course it `s dead .. killed by a Monty Python :-). Looking forward to following your blog from Hanoi. Have a nice trip:-)

     
    • timbre65

      July 7, 2011 at 7:34 am

      It’s not dead, it’s pining… etc etc ;-)

       
  4. Gandalv

    July 7, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    Remarkable bird, the Norwegian Blue, idn’it, ay? Beautiful plumage :-)

     
    • timbre65

      July 8, 2011 at 9:42 am

      You haven’t got any cheddar on you, have you, Geir?

       
  5. Gandalv

    July 11, 2011 at 9:23 am

    no cheddar Tim, afraid the cat ate it …. the neighbor’s cat that is …… used to be a nice cat … have not seen it in a while ….. not since it ate my cheddar …:-). Very fond of my cheddar……

    Yes, yes .. have you started on the barbecue season yet ……..? We have………

     
  6. timbre65

    July 11, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    Haven’t owned a barbecue for years! We go to friends or the inlaws for that sort of thing!

    Don’t know about cat, but they do apparently eat quite a bit of dog in Vietnam…. I’ll let you know what it’s like…

     
  7. Gandalv

    July 11, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    Dogtail soup ….. mmmmm … sure it tastes good even if I personally, if I were to try me a dog, prefer other parts :-).

    I have been on the Vietnamese New Year celebration on one occasion. Got served some excellent spring rolls ….. never asked what was inside …..

    When I think about it ….not sure about the tongue eather….there were a few flavors in the spring rolls I did not recognize……;-).

     
    • timbre65

      July 12, 2011 at 7:21 pm

      I had some raw spring rolls recently which are apparently typically Vietnamese too. Am actually really looking forward to the food over there.

       
  8. Gandalv

    July 13, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Raw spring rolls …… sounds interesting, .. he he ..:-) sure it was not cleaning cloths you got served :-). Looking forward to your writings on the culinary experiences.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 247 other followers

